United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

April 13, 2023

Senator Jon Tester Chairman Subcommittee on Defense Committee on Appropriations 122 Senate Dirksen Building Washington, DC 20510 Senator Susan Collins Ranking Member Subcommittee on Defense Committee on Appropriations 113 Senate Dirksen Building Washington, DC 20510

Senator Tammy Baldwin Chair Subcommittee on Labor-Health and Human Services-Education 131 Senate Dirksen Building Washington, DC 20510 Senator Shelley Moore Capito Ranking Member Subcommittee on Labor-Health and Human Services-Education 156 Senate Dirksen Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairs and Ranking Members:

We are writing in support of a continuation of funding for tuberous sclerosis complex (TSC) research in the Fiscal year 2024 appropriations process, through the Tuberous Sclerosis Complex Research Program (TSCRP) at the Department of Defense (DoD) and existing research initiatives at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). We are grateful for the past bipartisan support TSCRP has received, and look forward to continuing this support in Fiscal Year 2024.

TSC is a genetic condition that afflicts an estimated 50,000 Americans, causing tumors in the kidneys, lungs, liver, heart, eyes, skin, and brain. Researchers have linked TSC to seizures, autism spectrum disorder and severe intellectual disability. Research on TSC has proven to have a significant impact on our understanding of traumatic brain injury and other medical conditions, like cancer and diabetes, and research at the TSCRP is critical to ongoing progress.

The TSCRP is a well-established program and has enjoyed bipartisan support from Congress. The program awards grants competitively to cutting edge research proposals aimed at gaining a better understanding of this complex disorder. Research supported by the TSCRP complements ongoing studies on TSC supported by the NIH, and is not duplicative. Coordination between NIH and the TSCRP is managed by a trans-NIH working group, led by the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, with participation from eight separate Institutes, DoD and the TSC Alliance, who represents the TSC patient community. This working group has achieved exemplary results with breakthroughs in TSC research. This research has led to the development of three FDA-approved medications to shrink tumors in the brain, kidney, and skin and to treat seizures associated with TSC.

While this research has led to significant breakthroughs, far more funding is needed if we hope to find ways to more effectively treat those who suffer with TSC and prevent its occurrence in future generations. In Fiscal Year 2022, only 20% of research applications were funded by the TSCRP, and 12 applications, totaling \$6.5 million that scored in the outstanding or excellent

range were not funded. Continued funding is required to support clinical studies to validate biomarkers and outcome measurements necessary to accelerate development of new therapeutic agents. These studies will also help us understand the biology underlying the wide variation in severity of manifestations among individuals with TSC, explore gene therapy, attract new researchers into this field of study, identify potential biomarkers that can be applied to newborn screening and develop assays and animal models necessary for translating basic scientific discoveries into clinical treatments.

Ongoing support is necessary to move this research closer to ultimately finding a cure for TSC, and we urge you to appropriate funding necessary to continue the TSCRP in Fiscal year 2024.

Sincerely,

Martin Heinrich United States Senator Kevin Cramer United States Senator

Cory A. Booker
United States Senator

United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator

Maria Cantwell United States Senator Eric S Schmitt
United States Senator

Raphael Warnock
United States Senator

Tammy Duckworth
United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator Richard Blumenthal
United States Senator

Markwayne Mullin
United States Senator

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Edward J. Markey United States Senator

Angus S. King, Jr. *U* United States Senator

Thomas R. Carper United States Senator

Mazie K. Hirono United States Senator Gary Correters

United States Senator

Alex Padilla

United States Senator

Ben Ray Lujan

United States Senator

Roger Marshall M.D.

United States Senator

Jack Reed

United States Senator

Kyrsten Sinema

United States Senator

Robert Menendez

United States Senator

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar

United States Senator

Debbie Stabenow

United States Senator

Mark Kelly

United States Senator

Jacky Rosen

United States Senator

Sherrad Brown

United States Senator

Jeanne Shaheen

United States Senator

anne Shaheen

Dan Sullivan

United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen

United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren

United States Senator

Tina Smith

United States Senator

Peter Welch

United States Senator

Sheldon Whitehouse

United States Senator

on Ossoff

United States Senator

Tim Kaine

United States Senator

Ron Wyden

United States Senator